CDP Delegates

Although the California Democratic Party (CDP) is a separate legal entity, delegates to the state convention and to the state executive board are granted to each county central committee as well as to each assembly district and to elected officials. 
In addition, the CDP requires “gender equity” among delegates.
Gender, as defined by the CDP rules, is “self-identified female” (“Female”) or “other than self-identified female” (“Other”).
The DPCCC has no direct association with non-DPCCC delegates, but we are listing all delegates representing
any part of Contra Costa County here in the interest of transparency.

DPCCC Delegates

(6 Delegates)
Maria Alegria Michael Nye
Genoveva Calloway Mister Philips
Joey Smith Harpreet Sandhu
(8 Delegates)
Sarah Butler  Rick Adler
Diddo Clark Tom Duckworth
Brodie Hilp Ellis Goldberg
Katie Ricklefs  
Jane Walter  
(4 Delegates)
Shagoofa Khan Heath Lenoble
Debra Vinson Paul Seger
(6 Delegates)
Sue Hamill Chuck Carpenter 
Robyn Kuslits Marshall Lewis
Carol Reed Greg Sanborn
(5 Delegates)
Evelyn Centeno Jonathan Bash
Courtney Masella-O'Brien John Stevens
  Rich Verrilii
(6 Delegates)
Sharon Goldberg John Hall
Marisol Rubio Dan Jameyson
  Scott Rafferty
  Kenji Yamada

ADEM Delegates

(14 Members)
Justine A. Fout Jesus Espinoza
Ellie Householder Troy L. Finley, Sr.
Brigette Hunley Glenn Loveall
Doriss Panduro Kevin McNamara
K. Patrice Williams Rad Nowroozi
Susana Williams (Eboard) Steve Quinlan
Lori Wilson Quinten R. Voyce
(14 Members)
Anamarie Avila Farias Ryan H. Apperson
Rebecca Barrett Harry Baker
Kathryn Durham-Hammer Edi Birsan
Amy Hines-Shaikh (Eboard) Hakeem Brown
Bambi Marien Gabriel Haaland
Amy Scott-Slovick Morgan L. Hannigan
Rachel Tolmachoff Satinder S. Malhi

(14 Members)


(14 Members)
Betty Amini Evan Browning
Marilyn Cachola Lucey Shawn Kumagai
Latika Malkani Iman Novin
Jackie Moreau (Eboard) Thomas Tellner
Mary Nash Mark Van Landuyt
Leslie Shafton Patrick John Vanier
Renee Zeimer Dean Wallace


CD05: Congressman Mike Thompson    
CD09: Congressman Jerry McNerney    
CD11: Congressman Mark DeSaulnier    
CD15: Congressman Eric Swalwell    
SD03: State Senator Bill Dodd    
SD07: State Senator Steve Glazer    
SD09: State Senator Nancy Skinner    
AD11: Assemblymember Jim Frazier    
AD14: Assemblymember Tim Grayson    
AD15: Assemblymember Buffy Wicks    
AD16: Assemblymember Rebecca Bauer-Kahan    
State Superintendent of Public Instruction Tony Thurmond    



The list of all delegates are due to the CDP around the first week of February in odd-numbered years. This means that all delegates must be elected in January or before.


DPCCC delegates are selected at the reorganizational meeting in January of odd-numbered years. Any member of the DPCCC is eligible to run for delegate. The delegate selection process, however, is somewhat complicated. The complication has been built-in to ensure fairness and equity.

The committee first caucuses by supervisorial district. Within each district, the delegates are allocated based on the number of elected/appointed members on the committee plus one additional delegate. The districts conduct up to three rounds of selection. In the first round, all elected and appointed members are eligible. This is usually automatic as there are more delegate seats per district than there are elected/appointed members. In the second round, all club representatives and alternates are eligible. If any delegate seats are still available after the second round, then any associate members living in the district are eligible.

After the caucuses, the committee comes back together to review and confirm the results as well as to determine gender equity. The remaining six at-large seats are then up for selection with the number of seats per gender offered to ensure gender equity.

In 2019, the DPCCC had 35 seats to allocate. After the district caucuses, the six at-large seats were determined to be two self-identified females (traditionally "women") and four other than self-identified females (traditionally "men") for a total of seventeen (17) women and eighteen (18) men.

Eboard representatives are usually selected in the spring (April or May). In 2019, the DPCCC has 4 eboard seats available. Each DPCCC eboard member must already be a DPCCC delegate.


ADEM (Assembly District Election Meeting) delegates are elected by caucus within the assembly district in January of odd-numbered years. Any Democrat registered in the assembly district is eligible to run.

All interested Democrats must file a filing fee as well as a statement to the CDP in November or December of the prior year. (Filing fees may be waived.) Democrats within the assembly district then come together at a pre-determined location posted on the CDP website where they elect seven persons of each gender to be delegates to the state convention. From these fourteen (14), one person is elected to represent the assembly district on the eboard.

Other delegates are also eligible to run for the eboard seat. Basically anyone who has a delegate seat but is not a central committee delegate. It is rare for a none ADEM delegate to hold this eboard seat, but it is possible.


Each legislative, congressional, and statewide elected official is eligible to appoint delegates as are party officers. These are known as PLEO (Party Leaders and Elected Officials) appointments. The DPCCC will list the PLEO appointments once we are able to determine who they are. (It has generally been difficult for the DPCCC to obtain these appointment lists.)

Skip to toolbar